I wish… I was… A bird…

When thou seest an eagle, thou seest a portion of genius; lift up thy head!

William Blake (1757 – 1827)

I know exactly what you are going to say…What is she talking about now?

Let me explain. I was driving this morning, running some errand, and the traffic was going quite slow, then it came to a complete halt and we stayed bumper to bumper for a long while.  As I was admiring the colour of the sky, being happy that yesterday’s night winds, blew most of the rain clouds away, what I saw, put a smile on my face for the rest of the morning.  It was a Bald Eagle playing with the wind on top of the Highway, where the traffic has stopped…The white of its head and its back feather were going up and down, on my right window.  It really surprised me and took my breath away.

It looked like he was without a doubt, enjoying himself tremendously…It was really having a grand time…Flying high and then spreading its wings nice and straight, at least as straight as the wind would allow him to, then just letting himself glide…Starting all over again once it got too low…In a way you could say he was “Surfing on the Wind’s waves”, if that makes any sense…I really enjoyed this acrobatic aerial display and since the traffic was at a stand still  for about 2 minutes, I got to watch my private bird show without any interruption.

I took such pleasure watching this Eagle, having fun with the wind, it made me think of a question I often had as a childWould I like to be a bird?  I had mixed feelings, I was both envious and felt sorry at the same time.  Envious since they got to see the world in a way we can only imagine and Sorry, because I knew their wings had to be sore from all the up and down motions, needed to fly.  Today, watching this magnificent Eagle, playing with the wind, I was reminded of that childhood query of mine.

Now let’s see…I don’t need to be an Eagle… I could just be something else…How about a Swan, a beautiful graceful swan like the one in this picture, I took a few years back in a park, close to where we live.  I would fly away during the winter and come back around Spring time having seen our beautiful planet from all the way up…

That would be quite an adventure… May be in another life… Site Meter

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

