Spring Time…

“Can words describe the fragrance of the very breath of spring? “
— Neltje Blanchan

Cherry tree blossoms everywhere, nature displaying all its splendours, the sun’s rays finally being warm, daytime slowly getting longer, making the evening more pleasant.  I keep walking around with a smile on my face, not knowing the reason of my happiness, feeling in harmony with my surroundings…

Note: This side picture was taken on the grounds of the University of Washington while we were visiting with  family in Seattle, Washington.  Mind blowing isn’t it?

Nature is waking up and so am I.

Spring has always had this effect on me.  Growing up, I remember right after the very wet March Showers, came unpredictable April, when my grand-mother always used to say: “Till April’s dead, change not a thread”, You never knew what the weather would be like, so it was always a good idea to dress in layers. The air would be full of the scent of new grass growing and when we would venture in the forest behind my house, there was all the wild “Primeveres”, (see picture below…not sure about the English name)

 Always so fragrant on the hidden paths we used to take after school, to go play.  There was so many adventures to be had, I had so much energy and  I could feel Nature’s renewal and it’s positive effect on me.

Another Spring fragrance I do remember, from my childhood, was the smell of my grand-mother’s flower bed garden, and more specifically the smell of her Dwarf Carnations.  She had a whole array of them, whites, pinks and oranges bordering the outside surrounding her backyard, and it was always one of my favourite perfumes just before entering her house.  It was so strong you smell would it, before even coming into the garden itself.
Neltje Blanchan’s quote is so very accurate; Spring is a season full of fragrance.  Could it be the reason it is my second favourite season, right after Autumn. 
It seems to be all about senses with me, whether be it visual, all the autumn colours, or sweet-scented with all the Spring fragrances.

 It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!  ~Mark Twain

Site Meter

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

