Happy Birthday Canada…Vive le Canada

Canada Goose

Tomorrow is July 1st and where I live it will be Canada Day.  All over the country, from one coast to the other, there will be a lot of festivities and everyone will gather and celebrate this national holiday.  I for one will be going with all the family over to the park right next to us, where there will be a whole slew of Fair like attractions, ranging from face painting to bouncing castles and pony rides etc, etc…

Now for a little walk down memory lane, let’s rewind a few decades…I was born in France and grew up there, loving it.  However, soon after my first trip to Montreal, I realized while visiting my family, I had arrived in such a beautiful country I did not want to ever leave it. I did not know it at the time but I had fallen in love with Canada and years after my first encounter I would end up living there.

As of today, I can still say I am in love, with the country, with its people and even if some winters are rainier than I would care for, I feel really lucky and privileged to have the opportunity to be living here.

Thank you Canada for making me feel at home so far away from where I grew up.

In a world darkened by ethnic conflicts that tear nations apart, Canada stands as a model of how people of different cultures can live and work together in peace, prosperity, and mutual respect.   Bill Clinton

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

