Vancouver as a tourist…C’est magnifique

Yesterday, after so many years away from the city’s hustle and bustle, as a treat for our week-end guests and in all honesty for ourselves as well, we decided to saunter around Vancouver’s Downtown.  A bit of warning to my blog readers, I absolutely LOVE Vancouver…anytime, any season, under the rain, under the sun…I am quite biased, and tend to look at the city with the eyes of an enamoured fan.

As it has recently become my habit now, I was armed with my favourite toy and took photographs upon photographs of anything I saw, while trying to be creative.

The sun showed up right on cue when needed, allowing my artistic side to get some exercise.  This is a view of the skyline you see after walking on the promenade following the Vancouver Convention Center around the Waterfront area,  I just loved how the wild grass gave me the feeling that the buildings behind were just some other type of greenery, ones made of the planting of a glass and concrete seed.

The Sunday afternoon we had, in the Gastown area walking around with the hordes of tourists, playing tourists ourselves was quite entertaining.  I had forgotten how truly beautiful this city is, and I feel so happy to have had the opportunity to be reminded of my luck.   

Here are other awesome view points of the city by Marie Viljoen from 66 Square Feet.  I did warn you at the beginning “…the eyes of an enamoured fan”.

I have an affection for a great city.  I feel safe in the neighbourhood of man, and enjoy the sweet security of the streets.  Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Come and visit, you’ll see what I mean🙂

P.S: (This is NOT a paid advertisement for the Tourism Office of Vancouver)

2 comments on “Vancouver as a tourist…C’est magnifique

  1. You are welcome, MarieYou are right,those were indeed mammatus clouds, this was taken right after a very loud thunderstorm on a late June evening, in Osoyoos (BC interior).It actually looked like you could pick out the cottony clouds off this awesome orange sky.Quite an experience…

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

