Not so far away…

Travel and change of place impart new vigor to the mind.  
Seneca

Every time we go away, even if only for a short 3 hours drive, I feel like it’s a bit of vacation time.  This week-end was no exception, light packing on Friday evening and before you know it we’re on the road direction down South.  

Late arrival, and an hour of catching up time with family and off to sleep we went.

One of the little pleasures, I always look forward to when going there, is the amazing breakfast we get to enjoy sitting all together around a big dinner table.  Lovely Husband as usual delighted us with his famous omelet (a delicious mix of beaten eggs, diced tomatoes, sliced mushrooms, fried diced potatoes and a secret stash of fragrant spices).  This breakfast of sort should better be named brunch, since it is a full meal completed with all kind of breads and cheeses, as well as walnuts, butter, honey and other yummy treats, usually takes place between 10:30AM and 11:30AM and lasts at least an hour.

Thinking back, I wish I had taken at least one photograph to show you, this time I only took outdoor ones, still playing with the new 50mm lens (which I totally love, by the way)…

In the afternoon, we all decided to go and walk around Kirkland, a little city not far from where we were staying.  The weather was a perfect, even if closer to the water it was a little bit windy.  I do love water of any kind and got really happy to be able to take outdoor shots of the lake.

The wind was blowing a bit and it was giving the lake a nice wavy appearance…

I loved how dark and mysterious the waters were looking…

Don’t you love the reflection on the water?

But before you knew it the week-end was over and we came back late yesterday night, not without witnessing another out of this world Sunset…Truly spectacular, here is some of what I got…

And another one, just for fun πŸ˜‰

Isn’t it simply amazing? A busy week is starting, I have quite the program planned for myself which I’ll share with you (if everything goes according to plan) on Wednesday.  Have a wonderful week!

5 Comments

  1. Karen, the brunch was truly yummy and I want to start photographing food to see how it looks with this new lens…The boat photograph was fun to take as I imagined myself sailing it full speed ahead πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Wow the 50mm really makes a difference in the clarity of these photos. What a treat. Weekends away sound fun especially the brunch. Loved the boat photo with the wood railing in it. It has a lot going on it visually. For me anyway.

    Like

  3. Tracy! I had tons of fun taking those photographs with the 50mm lens of my friend. Little trips are really tons of fun. I hope your week will be awesome as well.Se'lah :-)Thank you for the compliment

    Like

  4. Deliciously beautiful photos, Anyes! I like how even just a short drive or train trip away can have that vacation-like feeling…bliss! Have a great week. :o)

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

