Rain… music to my sleepy ears ;-)

“Listen!  the wind is rising, and the air is wild with leaves,
We have had our summer evenings, now for October eves!”

Humbert Wolfe

Did I ever tell you how much I love the sound of the rain, tapping on my window in the middle of the night, when I am just about to fall asleep?  The gentle “plickity-plock” of the rain drops is such a soothing sound, a kind of lullaby helping me to fall asleep.  

What sounds do you prefer when falling asleep? Or do you like it better quiet?

7 comments on “Rain… music to my sleepy ears ;-)

  1. Back home, we used to have wooden shutters that always kept the bedroom pitch black, I do miss that…Stillness is good too, Tracy it allows you to rest deeper😉

    Like

  2. I love a little rain tapping at the window at night. Where I am living there are almost no sounds–no crickets, no frogs… I miss those sounds. But I don't mind quiet either. Stillness can be a great blessing after a busy day. :o) Happy Weekend, Anyes ((HUGS))

    Like

  3. I love to listen to rain also. We used to have a tin roof on our log house and I could hear it really well when it rained. Now, we have a regular shingle roof. I sure miss the tin.

    Like

  4. Rain IS soothing..It tells my body to relax.. pretty photo!I love to hear the crickets and other bugs that make sounds at night..My bed is right next to the window so I leave the blinds and window open and look up at the stars even though my air conditioner is on. Peace be still!

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

