Writing…Funny you should mention

The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, 
but what we are unable to say.  
Anaïs Nin


By taking this reverb10 challenge earlier today, I wanted to be reflecting more about writing in general, what it meant to me, what I could do to improve it, and I was also looking forward to getting a bit more writing practice, so imagine my surprise when I read today’s prompt:

Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)


I have often asked myself this very question, a very important question.  One that needed to be reflected upon…Here it goes:  It seems that every single night I go to sleep too late to be refreshed, enough to write something productive very early in the morning.  So an earlier bedtime should solve everything…Sleeping earlier, waking up earlier, easy right? wrong!  Whether I like it or not I am a night owl, I have always been.  For me the night has magic powers, it’s full of mystery, nothing feels the same, and more often than not my brain goes in overdrive (not really conducive to proper sleeping, I must say). 


All right I’ll keep the late nights then, but in all fairness I should also tell you, I quite like the early morning writings as well…  


The house is still in a very is deep slumber, the aroma of my first fresh cup of coffee tickling my nose and I can almost hear my pen sliding on the blank pages of my notebook.  I am half asleep, my hand is on its own, yet knowing what to do, i am just there watching it all… a very surreal experience.


Upon deeper reflection, and much to my delight, it appears I am fully contributing each day to my writing, and whether it being early in the morning or late at night, it is now part of my daily routine.  For having discovered this tonight, I am very thankful, it turns out this writing challenge is working out to be quite insightful…


Any surprising insight for you today?

2 comments on “Writing…Funny you should mention

  1. Karen, I think for me writing was always first but I got the photography bug this year and I am enjoying having both together. I really loved you flower today, awesome work 😉

    Like

  2. Oh, most definitely an owl here also, no lark. Left to my own devices I will stay up until 2 or 3 in the morning and then get up just before noon.I'm more focused on the photography these days than writing. I'm sure that will turn and the writing will supersede the pictures.

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

