Words or images?

The tree is more than first a seed, then a stem, 
then a living trunk, and then dead timber.  
The tree is a slow, enduring force straining to win the sky.  
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Wisdom of the Sands
(translated from French by Stuart Gilbert)

I always find myself going back and forth between words and images.  On days like today images are winning, for my world is brighter and shines with clear light, the sky so vast and so blue that I find my heart overwhelmed with delight and sheer pleasure.  I have such a need for outward expression, my face radiating with joy, my eyes gleaming with pleasure, I find myself walking around the neighbourhood camera in hand, totally soaking in the beauty of it all.  My eyes are trying to capture with the camera what my heart sees, quite a feat I tell you, and I love it!


However once I find myself back home, I feel this deep need for words to be laid down, on the blank page of decorated notebook They are twirling in my head, wanting to be let out, coming in bursts as a result of the excitement I felt just a few hours back, when I was out. Being a tactile individual, I also love the feel of the pen on my page, and the feel of the page against the skin of my palm, so writing is also a pleasurable sensory adventure.  My heart is being contented to empty itself on the page while my skin is enjoying the sweet touch of the page. 


Is what I am experiencing, the duality of every budding artist wishing to juggle mediums in order to express him/herself better, or is it just another case of indecision plaguing me? For now, I have no desire to separate one form of expression from the other, so I will have days of photographs and days of writing and if I have learned anything during this past year of blogging, it is that the answer will come my way once I am ready to listen to it.  Now please, tell me…

Words or images
Which one are you?

Come here and comment for my giveaway, won’t you?

5 comments on “Words or images?

  1. ladyfi, Today was such a beautiful day and the light was an amateur photographer's dream :-)Zondra, I am glad you like what you see. I hope you'll come and visit again :-)Karen, I have a hard time believe you struggle for your photographs, it really does not seem that way. See you on sunset sunday, right?Vickie, I love your take on this. Thank you so much🙂

    Like

  2. I think that each serves a purpose. I also love how you described what those purposes are for you. Images and words can complement each other. Perhaps there is no decision to make. Or perhaps each serves its purpose and knowing that purpose helps you know which one to use.For me, I lean more towards photography, however, there are times when only words will do. For that, I have a journal I keep. I use it to sort out my thoughts and sometimes write down ideas I'd like to flush out into stories or essays. Usually, the words take me in a different direction than the photos. This may explain why I sometimes have difficulty writing about my photos. I feel like there it is for others to interpret in their own way. What could I possibly add to make the image clearer or better understood.The words that go into my journal, on the other hand, often flesh out larger ideas. Stuff that can't really be photographed. Ideas of morals and ethics and general observations about what it's like to be alive at this time in history. Larger than life ideas. No, that's not right, ideas that represent the universality of life the stuff that ties us all together.So there's nothing wrong with using either photos or words or both if the occasion calls for it.

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

