On her own

May the road rise up to meet you, may the wind be ever at your back. 
 May the sun shine warm upon your face and the rain fall softly on your fields. 
 And until we meet again, may God hold you in the hollow of his hand. 
Irish Blessing


…Darling Daughter is leaving in a few hours for her annual Adventure Trip… 

…How can my heart already ache so much if she has not yet left my side?… 

…Listening to my inner whisper, and knowing everything will be fine does not seem enough this time around…

…Last year I did not know how slow the time would drag itself, this year I do…
…Deep breath, inhale, exhale…

…Repeat…

8 Comments

  1. Hilary, Thank you for those reassuring words, I have to believe she's going to be fine.:-)Karen, I know how excited she is which actually helped me a lot :-)ladyfi, it actually was yesterday's sunset so I thought it was prefect:-)Norma, it's exactly one of the way I use to keep relatively sane 🙂

    Like

  2. We work so hard to make them independent, and then poof! Off they go to live life. When my youngest went to the job he still has (correctional officer), I asked God to wrap His arms around my son to keep him safe. I did that each time he went to work for a long time. Otherwise I couldn't have functioned at all. I never told him; he'd think I was being foolish.

    Like

  3. all is well…just think how joyful it is for your birdie to test her wings… and you are preparing, too…a big hug – do something extra kind for yourself that makes your heart sing…and then let us know what you did…i will be waiting… -xok.

    Like

  4. Oh I know the feeling and it will get easier over time. My younger one is off this weekend too.. his first trip away from home.. without family. I worry less than I used to with my older one. Their independence is just proof that we raised them right.Hang in there. She'll be fine. 🙂

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

