Digging deeper…

“Take a look at your natural river. What are you? 
Stop playing games with yourself. Where’s your river going? 
Are you riding with it? Or are you rowing against it?
 Don’t you see that there is no effort if you’re riding with your river?”
Frederick (Carl) Frieseke (1874-1939)

Those are the questions I want to meditate on today
Care to join me?

3 comments on “Digging deeper…

  1. m, I need to remember and strive to be the river and just flow. Thank you for sharing the books you are reading. I always find the river to be so calming for me even if it is loud and crazy with wild currents. Enjoy your hike :-)Karen, Have a great week-end:-)

    Like

  2. Speaking of serendipity, there is a beautiful poem called "We Are a River" int he Ancient Advice book I posted about last night, "…we became a spring, and then a stream, and finally a river flowing deeper and stronger, nourishing all it touches as it nears its home once again." And in the autobiography I'm currently reading, "No Destination" the line, "…don't get stuck in anything…keep flowing. We should learn from the river which keeps itself pure and healthy by continuing to flow. If the river gets blocked and the flow is hindered it stagnates, produces a stink, and the mosquitos breeds. We should be like the flowing river."Maybe a hike to the river should be on the agenda for me this weekend😉

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

