A bit of my world

Close your eyes, give me your hand and just trust me. Let me take you around my neighbourhood and show you where I love to go. A few steps away from where I live is this little nature sanctuary we call “The pond”, most people call it Settlers Park, but we just call it “The Pond”. We also tend to believe it’s really ours. 
I often go for walks there and love to photograph it anytime of the year, as you see this past January it happened to look like this:



Last week while being out with the children, camera in hand I noticed the light. It was an amateur photographer’s dream and I knew I had to take advantage of it. I felt so inspired by all of nature’s simple beauty surrounding me, I went a bit trigger happy with the camera. The ice has all melted, everything is green now and this is what the pond looks like now.


If you promise to stay quiet I can show some intimate moments, where Mr. Duck so busy scratching his under leg itch could not pay me any attention. Poor thing it really looked a bit uncomfortable, I guess that’s the price you have to pay for wanting to always look your best in order to please the ladies πŸ˜‰



You could also hear this busy-bee of a duck quacking to his heart’s content letting everyone know how he was feeling. Quite a loud noise maker he was, but I did not mind. It was such a beautiful day, he could be as loud as he wanted too. 



You can even get to see several groups of fishes, I had never seen before in this tiny man made pond. I am all excited thinking about the renewal force of nature. A few years back, there was no life to speak of in this tiny pond and this time around it was bursting at the seams with creatures of all kind.



Wanting to thank you for having kept me company during our little walk around the pond, I was thinking of offering you this beautiful flower. The one blooming on the tree by the left corner just as we leave the pond, I just love it’s colour and I hope you’ll like it too πŸ˜‰


For my American friends reading this
I wish you all a
Happy Memorial Week-end πŸ™‚

7 comments on “A bit of my world

  1. Cinner, I know you would love it. Have an great week-end too :-)m! I find myself more and more attracted to try and make the photographs I take look like paintings. I am glad you liked it too :-)Grace, I enjoy knowing you like you r visits here :-)Jennifer, Such a compliment you are giving me. Thank you :-)I know you are gong to love this new passionKaren, He was talking my ear off ;-)Have an awesome week-endGayle, he was enjoying himself the most πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Thank you for this beautiful walk! It really started my morning off nicely:-) I just wanted to say that you have been such an inspiration to me. I have now purchased a nice camera and have discovered my love of photography! Thank you! Thank you!Namaste,Jennifer Renee

    Like

  3. I love that third photo of the duck – with the effects you put on it I thought it was a painting at first glance. What a special place to visit with your camera, thank you for taking us along!

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

