Why?

“Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal 
with the intent of throwing it at someone else; 
you are the one who gets burned.”
 Buddha (Hindu Prince Gautama Siddharta, the founder of Buddhism, 563-483 B.C.)


Feeling frustrated to have to try and explain senseless acts of
violence from angry crowds after losing a game.

Why do grown individuals sometimes behave this way?

7 comments on “Why?

  1. i couldn't believe what i saw on the television….how people, adults, could be so childish and stupid….and i know this is NOT what your city is about {coming from someone whose city has been in the news all year with our protesters on the square}

    Like

  2. One of my favorite quotes Anyes! I didn't hear about what happened in your city but I know well from when things like that happened in Europe … there are many things that leave me speechless or upset or sad, this would be one of them. Sending love your way!

    Like

  3. Gail, I believe yesterday it was more hurt and disappointment at how a group of individuals can behave in such a shameful way.Kath, To my amazement the whole day today entire groups of citizen voluntarily came to clean up the mess. Showing their true love for this beautiful city while doing their best to restore a bit of normality. I just re-read my post tonight and saw I had written "grown humans…which I changed now for grown individuals…talk about loss for words that flow 😉 Norma, Every one I know has been so surprised and ashamed by this reaction. Such an upsetting night and I am not talking about the game, but it's over…Isabelle, I was trying to comprehend it. You are right it's senseless!

    Like

  4. The news on TV showed a Vancouver man saying that this rioting was not indicative of their city. He seemed quite embarrassed and upset with the simpletons who were doing all the vandalizing.

    Like

  5. This morning I called your city an embarrassment. Barry (a lover and former vancouverite) chastised me and said, "NO, never never say that about Vancouver. It is the idiots. And never be embarrassed about the idiots because they do not represent you." He changed my view and now I feel sympathy for how you must feel.Did that make sense? I'm at a bit of a loss today for words that flow.xoK

    Like

  6. Hi Anyes-Someone asked me once, "do you get angry-do you recall the last time you were angry?" I answered, "I believe it was three years ago last August." Upon further reflection I realized it was more hurt than anger but it was a time I remembered. Love to youGailpeace……

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

