How do they know?

“How do geese know when to fly to the sun? Who tells them the seasons? 
How do we, humans know when it is time to move on? 
As with the migrant birds, so surely with us, there is a voice within if only we would listen to it, that tells us certainly when to go forth into the unknown.”
 Elisabeth Kubler-Ross quotes (Swiss-American psychiatrist and author )


I have always been curious about it…


Can you tell me?

8 comments on “How do they know?

  1. Cinner, Instinct has to play a big role you are right. Have a great week-end too :-)Frida, They always make me want to follow them :-)Sherry, The famous inner whisper ;-)Karena, I am glad I gave you some food for thought :-)Birdie, I totally agree we could learn so much from them :-)Lilli, it feels as if they know exactly when to go :-)CherryPie, you took the words right out of my mouth😉

    Like

  2. Oh, I do agree with Birdie!We live by a river, and every year they gather here and practise for a few weeks. I love the trumpeting sound over the roof all day (and sometimes late into the evening).One thing is sure, they ever leave at just the right moment.

    Like

  3. I believe that if we wouldn't have shut ourselves up we would be able to know exactly what and when to do, just like the geese. It's such a paradox, we think that we are all so smart, we have brains, we think and over-think things and where did it get us? Many of us live in constant fear and anxieties instead in joy peace and harmony which I believe is meant to be our natural state. But I may be wrong. Just thinking … lol Seriously I think when we drop all of the shoulds and needs and if we just listen and kind of reprogram ourselves we can fly free and there we are suppose to all the same like them🙂 love!

    Like

  4. No idea how they know…but it's beautiful. And I love the sound they make as they pass over.I do agree with Sherry though…that we all have a little voice that tells all we need to know…including when to move on…we need only listen.Much to ponder here this morning. xo

    Like

  5. It is one of those "we'll never know" situations that come up in life so often. The little mysteries that we aren't meant to "know" but simply to enjoy. I love the quote by Kubler-Ross. And I do believe that we all have that little voice that tells us when it is time to move on…we need only listen.

    Like

  6. I wish I knew too, one of lifes mysteries. I think it is just instinct they feel the change in the air maybe plus they are creatures of habit, every year the same time…of course I am guessing….lol. have a great weekend.

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

