In the fog

Don’t let the fear of the time it will take to accomplish something 
stand in the way of your doing it. 
 The time will pass anyway;
 we might just as well put that passing time
to the best possible use.
Earl Nightingale



Some days it feels like the fog is everywhere, no matter what the weather looks like outside my kitchen windows. When I say everywhere I mean mostly in my head. Lately I have been doing lots of thinking about writing. Unfortunately, nothing concrete about it. This week-end was the ultimate proof that I am indeed a coward…
I have the ideas in my head, I also have the words, I even know what happens to all the characters of my story…so now I am wondering…

  • what am I scared of? 
  • why don’t I make time to lay those ideas down on paper? 
  • what have I go tot lose?
  • what am I escaping from?
  • how bad can it really be?

I have to be honest here: I am getting tired of not doing more about what I really want. I have to come up with some sort of self-imposed deadline. Some kind of incentive to trick myself into actually do the work instead of only talking about it. 


Any writers out there? A friendly voice willing to share how he/she makes it pass the concept into the actual realization of a dream? Some general ideas would be plenty to get me started. I feel like a fool asking you to help when I think I should be able to do it on my own. 

You could comment here or even email me 
at “farawayinthesunshine2010 at gmail dot com”

Oh and before I go I want to thank you for listening and being there when I need help🙂

12 comments on “In the fog

  1. Oh, my first thought was the book "writing down the bones…" by Natalie Goldberg, and its already the first thing mentioned🙂 I also read Stephen Kings writing book, and in college we read Peter Elbow and Joan Didion… I'm scratching my head trying to remember. But as I scan through your comments, Brian is spot on in his advice. Write every day, even when its "bad writing" or "blah writing," just write. Out of the ashes sometimes the most real voice emerges and you'll know it when you see it🙂 Just keep on girl!

    Like

  2. In your profile a book jumped out at me, I sit at my computer and look at my bookcase to my right and the book You Can Heal Your Life by Louise Hay is on its side facing me.So you and I already have that in common.What you are describing here in this post is me before I stopped the wheat. I was sluggish and sometimes fuzzy headed. And I would get tired often and I would get angry with myself for not pushing myself more. In the past six weeks without wheat I have found an energy and interest in life I didn't know I had. I wish you health and clear mind. Have you read the Wheat Belly book by Dr Davis? That is the book that turned James and me around to health and energy.

    Like

  3. i feel the same way, so i can totally relate to this. every once in a while, i will sit down and plan out something i want to write, but then i am very hard on myself and too scared to share what i write with others (apart from the little that i put up on the blog).

    Like

  4. Mary, I have Natalie Goldberg books and I guess I am due for a re-read. I remember how motivated she got me :-)Mary, The funny part is I want to write…I just feel so scared…:-)Brian, you are hitting the nail on the head, I have to create this writing habit :-)Karen, Morning pages, here I come (it had been a long while I had stopped doing them). Thank you :-)CherryPie, jotting down ideas is also something I can try :-)Hilary, I will go and see what they offer. Your POTW's were awesome :-)Pierre, Bonjour et merci🙂

    Like

  5. From what I understand, the forum at absolutewrite.com is a gold mine of information for writers. You might be able to find answers to your questions there among a group of like-minded folks.

    Like

  6. Jot down your every day thoughts as they come along, or at the end of the day. That could just be day to day experiences or whatever comes into you head throughout the day.That clears my head from clutter. I can then read back on my thoughts and ideas and find it easier to write about what is in my head.

    Like

  7. my best advice is to dive into the time-honored book: "The Artist's Way" by Julia Cameron. It is priceless and so amazingly supportive and inspirational with concrete steps designed to chase away the "fog"… i return to it again and again, and follow the 3 page daily discipline (i miss it when i don't do it)… you can do this… and own it! i just know it!-xok.

    Like

  8. writing is a habit….i write daily wether i feel like it or not not worrying if it is any good or makes sense…it is a discipline…i find if i try to set aside time to do do it or make myself it does not work…i also always keep my notebook with me in case inspiration hits and go ahead and get it down then play off it when i write later…i do have time set aside at the end of each evening to write but it is more a culmination of what i have done through out the day…

    Like

  9. I'm not sure if this will work for writing, but for the tasks that I do not look forward to doing, I tell myself that I will only do them for 15 minutes, or half an hour, or whatever small increment of time I think I can manage that day. Usually, just getting started is the hardest part. 🙂

    Like

  10. Okay…here goes Anyes, (random ideas before I head out to work). Natalie Goldberg – read her books for inspiration and simple every day practice. I think that is a key for all creatives- doing something every day, making it a practice. You can't force creativity. You write the story or the poem or the essay because it's climbing out of you, because it wants to be seen not because someone will read it or love it or buy it. I'm going to send you more thoughts later when I have more time. That's my frustration – I have an 8 hour a day job that takes me away from this…. nothing is permanent😉

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

