It’s just the beginning

“There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth…
not going all the way, and not starting.”
Buddha (563-483 B.C.)

I have officially started NaNoWriMo yesterday and being part of this awesome creative journey is both unnerving and exciting at the same time. Sunday evening as I was looking over Darling Daughter’s shoulders I saw she had just finished registering herself. A bit curious I asked her what it was all about. Very matter-of-factly she replied it was a challenge inviting whoever wanted, to write 50,000 words during the month of November. She had always wanted to do it and that I should also think about giving it a try. In that precise moment in time I was confronted with the opportunity to “walk my talk”, to experience for the first time what writing with purpose would feel like.This was the push I needed to go forward.

So I did…and here I am 😉

This experience is giving me much to think about. The night before it all started I had but a wink of sleep, too much excitement for one and fear of the unknown for the other were both responsible for the state of my nerves. Yesterday felt much better as I started building the foundation of what will be my “novel”. I made a rough outline of who my main character was. The other participants, the location and the plot were also part of this construction plan. I have to say that now that I know where I am going, even if the amount of work is still quite overwhelming I feel much better about it all.

Accepting this challenge is for me an opportunity to see if my love of words and everything written will be enough to carry me through the change in direction of my life. My mind is racing with excitement and fear, high emotions are ruling me now (as if I needed it). A whole month of writing, of living in my head even more than usual and of giving light to something which was only the shadow of a distant dream. I’d say November feels like Christmas for me 😉


Oh and before I forget, I am also having a 500th post giveaway on my blog, go and have a look and comment if you like to participate.

Cross-posted over  at   Vision and Verb –  where a collaborative group of like-minded women from all over the world share their passion for photography and the written word.

10 Comments

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

