Changing myself slowly

“Chains of habit are too light to be felt until they are too heavy to be broken.” 
Warren Buffett 

It had started innocently enough. Registering myself to be doing NaNoWriMo and to write the whole month of November was the right step in the direction of my dreams. However once the excitement wore off I remember being terrified at the enormity of what I had set myself up to accomplish. 

I felt stuck, as if I had of my own volition decided to entangle myself onto a link fence. There was too much to do and too little time. I simply felt overwhelmed. Soon enough a change in viewpoint occurred. Once I got my story (or rather its skeleton) all sketched out I felt a lot better. The only thing needed after was to decide how to fit my daily writing  in my schedule. Early mornings were a natural option and the best fit for me.


Being honest here I have to admit stepping out of my warm and cozy bed in the dead of night is not very exciting. Every dawn an internal battle is raging in my head. Starting to write at 5:00 AM for about 1:30 hour is an acquired taste which I am still in the process of acquiring 😉

Deciding to keep on writing daily even if I know I am not able to reach the 50,000.00 words goal this month, is my way to create a new pattern. My story keeps me motivated so I will find it impossible to break. Before I know it this will become my way of life. 
I did not know when I started this single habit is changing me one day at a time, one page at a time and one word at a time and I just love it…

10 comments on “Changing myself slowly

  1. So very inspiring, Anyes! Blogging was my way into this habit-creation business, and I am so very glad I am making the effort. I envy you long-form writers the strength of wit and attention-span to follow through with novels and other extended writings, and hope to continue learning from you. Cheers to you!Kathryn

    Like

  2. Otto, The moment I saw this leaf I felt it has been captured, I am glad you like it :-)Brian, it is a slow process that seems to take me deep within :-)ladyfi, Thank you :-)CherryPie, I have noticed that I need to keep the goal small so I count in pages per day, it makes it easier :-)Mike, The benefits outweigh the disadvantages 🙂

    Like

  3. Great colours in the picture with the orange leaf complementing the green background. I also like the idea of a leaf captured by a fence, makes you imagination running. Very nice.

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

