Looking for guidance

“Just as treasures are uncovered from the earth, so virtue appears from good deeds, and wisdom appears from a pure and peaceful mind. 
To walk safely through the maze of human life, one needs the light of wisdom and the guidance of virtue.”
 Buddha (563-483 B.C.)

The year is a year of discovery for me, or rather re-discovery. Questioning lots of what I have lived or believed until now, I find myself yearning for guidance. I once read that a woman’s life was made of seven important cycles. Each one of those cycles taking about seven years. Turning fourty-nine the end of last year, I have now entered the beginning of my last cycle.


At this time in my life, I am learning to re-visit my childhood and question what I had taken for granted until now. You see in order to be able to proceed further, it is very important if not very easy to re-examine one’s past. The pain at times is surprising, as looking into our past is far from being simple. It is however a necessary step, a cleaning house of sort that will allow the rest of the journey to be easier.


That being said, I am finding it heavy at times to keep on cleaning house. I feel like closing my heart to what happened to me and learn to forget it, knowing however it would not be wise. To add to my discomfort, it seems those cycles are also valid for the men in our lives and guess who just turned fifty about a month ago? Lovely Husband…

Rediscovering oneself is challenging enough and doing it at the same time as your partner is not for the faint of hearts 😉
So here I am hoping for guidance and patience while searching for my lighthouse in the middle of this emotional storm I find myself in.

Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
 Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

9 comments on “Looking for guidance

  1. I love the photo. It is just beautiful. Life is about choices. I own the things I have been through, in so doing it allows me to live in the present. I turn 49 and hubby turns 60. Somedays I answer the phone,,,the house of aches and pains. Laughter is the way I am kind to myself, that and forgiveness. Sending prayers Amyes. wishing you health and happiness.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful photograph, this lighthouse, and a great reminder for seeking guidance in life. No matter how old we get, we will always need some reminders, some guidance, I think. My husband & I both approach BIG birthdays this year–me 40, he 50. It's a time of musing and questioning, we find too. Revisiting the past is hard. I have found past hurts hard over the years to deal with sometimes. Doing forgiveness meditation helped a lot. As I grow older though, the past preoccupies me less & less, I find, and I'm more interested in the now, growing into the now as best I can. We are meant to keep growing, evolving. Be kind to yourself. The healing road opens up to us the more open we become to it. :o) ((HUGS))

    Like

  3. Light house is a great metaphor for your topic. We have to look back at the past. We can learn from our life. Things make more sense after some time has passed. However, it;s not wise to beat yourself up. Thoughtful post.

    Like

  4. I've just realised that I thought we all stopped growing when we got to adulthood. I thought we stopped changing both physically and emotionally. Slowly, over the last year I discovered I was still growing and so was everyone around me. It's painful sometimes but I'm remembering to breathe and trying to stay centred. Hugs to you dear Anyes xoxo

    Like

  5. I like the Lighthouse, it reminds me of my childhood in Brittany. If you are ready for some great insights and exercises, you might try James Redfield's series of "The Celestine Prophecy". The books are a "must read" but the real insights about your life will come by doing the exercises suggested in "The Celestine Prophecy: the Experimental Guide".You have a long journey ahead… and that's what life is all about :)Take care!

    Like

  6. Seeking guidance is always a wise thing — just as a lighthouse guides the way for the mariner. You'll find your way…wanting the guidance and being able to close doors and move on is the first step. xo

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

