Around the bend

“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure.
There is no end to the adventures we can have 
if only we seek them with our eyes open.”
 Jawaharial Nehru

About a month and a half ago, I was lucky enough to travel together with Lovely Husband and the children, back to Europe. Stopping only a couple of hours in Amsterdam, we flew on all the way down to Milan, Italy. 

Staying in a beautifully decorated Italian house we rested a few days, long enough to shake the jet-lag away. Nothing like going people watching in the Galleria Milan, to get a sense of wonder and awe.

The following week-end, to our delight we went up to Baveno a charming little city in the Northern Italian region of PiedmontSharing those photographs here with you, I am reminded once more of this feeling I had, being there. A strange feeling of coming back home.

Being myself from France originally, seeing those old brick roofs, was stirring deep emotions in my heart. Yet the most amazing part of it all, was to hear Darling Daughter’s amazement at everything she was seeing and to observe her sense of wonder. It brought me so much contentment.

Wondering where to get a brand new tattoo in the heart of Verbania? wonder no more 😉  Joking aside, I took this photograph while we where driving around in those tiny, narrow streets. ” Look, a tattoo parlour!” said Darling Daughter. It seemed so out of place somehow, we both smiled. I was pleasantly surprised to see I had managed to capture it after all…So here it is 😉

I found so many treasures right around the bend, waiting for me in the oddest places. Reaching for my camera, and trying to get the shot I wanted was some kind of strange sporting event. Thankfully my camera always managed to capture what I was aiming for.

I am planning to keep on sharing with you the photographs I took during this trip and hope you bear with me.

15 Comments

  1. Oh yes- please do! I feel transported to another place and sometimes even another time. Love seeing the architecture and knowing its been there for eons… the tattoo sign made me laugh out loud… beautifully capture shots!

    Like

  2. Looking forward to seeing more of your beautiful captures from Italy. I was in Italy when I was 16 (long, long ago in a time far away…*snort*) — in Rome with some side trips. That feeling you describe, of feeling "at home" — I know that feeling. I had it when I was in Italy as well. I get it from other places too — as if I know them in my soul. When that happens, it is such a gift!

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

