One moment at a time

The butterfly counts not months but moments, and has time enough. 
Rabindranath Tagore

On this very first day of Autumn, which coincidentally my favourite season, I pause and wonder: Where did the rest of the year 2012 go? This month’s unusual warm temperatures, kept me thinking we still are in Summer. Yet I have to face the truth, there is only about 100 days left till next year. How did this happen?

Life’s perpetual motion in which everyday is very similar to the one before, contributes somewhat to this blurry vision I have of the last nine months. A few milestones here and there, sticking out in my memory but overall quite a blend fusion of hours and days mixed together. Quite a distressing feeling, may I tell you when one realizes that she does not remember much about how three quarter of a year just disappeared..it all seem to me as if it went in the blink of an eye.

So in a futile effort to slow down time, as if such a feat was ever possible, I was wondering about trying my best to live in the moment. Let me explain, back in Europe this past Summer I noticed that I was feeling the hours, feeling the days each and ever one of them.

Time. had. slowed. down.

Looking back, I come to think that it was slower for the simple reason that I was not living in the past or looking ahead. I was very focused on enjoying each and every moment. My senses were somewhat heightened by the beauty of every place we visited. The food we ate was simply scrumptious, and I can still remember the scents in the air. All of this contributed in my mind to three unforgettable weeks all  filled with plenty of time, made of precious moments weaved together.

So here it is…

I. am. taking. it. slow.

In doing so, I hope to start learning to feel each and every day, in order to enjoy my life much more. I know it is going to be somewhat of a challenge and I embrace it wholeheartedly. Wish me luck

One a side note, it’s so good to be back here with all of you on Vision and Verb. I wish you all a very beautiful first Autumn day🙂

7 comments on “One moment at a time

  1. Love your butterfly photo and quotation. The sentiments are so true. Life is truly "precious moments weaved together", and appreciating each moment is one of the great keys to happiness. Thanks so much for this thought-provoking post to start off fall.

    Like

  2. Beautiful post. I feel the same way. And I agree that it will take discipline. I find my mind wandering when I try to stay in the moment. I'll work on that with you. Happy Autumn.

    Like

  3. A lot of truth in what you say. We can really get tangled up in our past. The older we get the faster time seems to pass because on year in our life at age one is 100% One year in our life at fifty is 2%. Do you follow me?

    Like

  4. It sounds pretty much how I feel. I tend to feel the days and hours when in Europe for some reason. Everything tastes, smells, and feels different. Could it be because we are among those who we truly care and love?

    Like

  5. it is def a discipline to take it slow…much easier when we are traveling or on vacation….we want it to go slow then….in life too often we are looking forward to the next big thing…i love autumn as well…

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

