Focus now! Will you?

“Concentrate all your thoughts upon the work at hand. The sun’s rays do not burn until brought to a focus.”
Alexander Graham Bell

One of the major obstacles I have while writing is the ability to focus. Aiming to write 1700 words a day, I have to be able to put my head down and start working on the blank screen. However, the reality of it is that  as soon as I would start to write, my monkey mind would begin to wander. Within a few moments I had to stand up and do something else. Checking my phone for a new text or a new email, looking around to see if there is something I had to do around the house, even checking to see what the children were doing. Needless to say I was advancing at a turtle pace.

Much to my surprise late on Friday I was given an unexpected remedy to my lack of focus. A friend and fellow contributor at Vision and Verb shared something amazing with us. It is called ommwriter and it turns out this was what I was desperately in need of. A very simple word processor that allows you to write while listening to calming music. The barren screen is easy to customize with simple colour and font choices. Just plug-in your headphones and away you go.
This simple download allowed me to immerse myself entirely in my novel and to stay focused.

Such a novel experience for me.

I am still in the beginning of it all yet I can already see how much I have improved compared to last year. The beauty of this is that I can tune out everything else for the allotted time I have to write (I use the timer on my phone). The background music keeps my monkey mind busy without being a distraction to my inspiration. I have even used it to write most of this post.

Try it if you like and let me know how it works for you.

10 comments on “Focus now! Will you?

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

