Let it whisper in your heart

December Morning

“Life is a mirror and will reflect back to the thinker what he thinks into it.” Ernest Holmes

Sometime in December every year, I wonder why the days are so short, why my nature world has become so grey and dull and why do I feel like hibernating?. Over the past couple of years it has finally dawned on me that this all served a purpose. We human have to go inwards, to go within and reflect. No more outside distractions, Spring fever has burned away, lazy Summers days are over and Autumn firework of colours is now long gone.

Two years back I got to reflect and to choose my word of the year for the first time. I remember it vividly having spend a bit of time trying to find it. The faint whisper I felt in my heart let me know it was the right one and I went with it. The word I chose for 2011 was BELIEVE and it had to do with doubts I had that I could find my artistic self. This year’s word was SIMPLICITY, and looking back I have tried and simplified quite a bit in my life. Not as much as I would like but it is a work in progress…

So today I invite you all, dear friends to do the same and reflect during the last two weeks of the year to see if you come up with a word that will encompass your hope and desires for next year. It is a very interesting exercise and you might be surprised of what you will find. Keep it a secret until the end of this year 🙂

Comment on any or all posts here for the chance to win 10 beautiful note cards from the Vision and Verb shoppe (Dec 9th – Dec 15th) 

 

***My heart goes and weep for those who have lost loved ones in the tragedy in Newtown, CT. ***

“There are no goodbyes for us. Wherever you are, you will always be in my heart.” Gandhi

20 Comments

  1. this will be year number 5 for me as far as “a word” goes….and i’m not sure yet which one it will be….i hope it comes to me on new years eve 🙂

    Like

  2. Hello Anyes – lovely photo and it does go so well with the Gandhi quote. I am contemplating on my word for the coming year – I have had a word for the year in the past but not recently. May I add my words of condolence to those of you who were caught up in the violence and those of you who were not. Thoughts are winging to you from the other side of the world..

    Like

  3. great gandhi quote….pretty well been a mess since yesterday…maybe peace should be my word…will give it some thought….lovely picture as well…happy saturday anyes

    Like

  4. I feel like my world had a crack in it after the events of yesterday like your photo. Beautiful, yet imperfect. Maybe beautiful because imperfect. Thank you for this wonderful post. I am working on my word for the year. Great idea.

    Like

    1. I feel the same and I have a hard time comprehending what happened.
      This post had been written before yesterday’s tragic events and the photograph is expressing how I feel inside, still hoping for the sun to rise but cracked inside.
      A word for the year is a very powerful exercise, Kozo.

      Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

