Without a minute to spare

For a few weeks now I have been waiting to find my word of the year,. I thought I had discovered it not long ago. I kept saying it out loud, tasting its sound on the tip of my tongue trying to get used to it. I have to be honest though it did not feel right. From the beginning this other word felt like I was lying to myself. I was wondering what to do and seriously questioned how I was going to go on when today IT suddenly found me.

Arriving unannounced and ringing loud in my ears…LISTEN…and somehow I heard it. My word of the year had found me right in time,and if I might say so without a minute to spare😉

Blowing in the Wind

lis·ten
/ˈlisən/
Verb
Give one’s attention to a sound: “sit and listen to the radio”.
Noun
An act of listening to something.
Synonyms
hear – hearken – hark – harken – obey – attend

So here you have it, the word that will accompany me for the next 12 months. It is going to be a bit of a challenge and I am looking forward to what it will teach me.

Tell me dear friend, what  is YOUR word? Has it found you yet?

22 comments on “Without a minute to spare

  1. Anyes, I like so much how you say that you were trying to find the word but instead it found you.🙂 When I read the recent post about the word of the year on the Vision & Verb blog, I thought it would be nice to have one too but I didn’t start looking for it. Some time later I was supposed to write my intentions for the new year and when I was trying to come out with something, I found a word peeking from the back of my mind. It was the word HUMOUR. It seems to me that we found one another!🙂

    Like

  2. One of my favorite stories is of my biological father. I never knew him but my half-brother related a story. He said that his father would often sit on the porch on a summer’s night. He’d be out there for a long time. His son walked outside one evening and said, “What are you doing out here dad.” He replied, “I’m listening son, I’m listening.”

    Like

  3. answer to your question: yes, my word is ‘entrust’. I too had to ‘listen’.
    I have missed visiting you; a few months ago I lost access to my blog’s dashboard, thus I lost bloggers’ blog sites. so glad to see you and enjoy your blog once again
    happy new year!
    please drop by and visit.

    Like

  4. I think from the way you’ve been speaking lately that “listen” is a good choice for you…and I love that it found you….and why is that? Because you were already listening. It may prove to be a challenge for you but not in a difficult way…I think this will be a rewarding challenge.

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

