The truth of the matter is…

There is a privacy about it which no other season gives you….
In spring, summer and fall people sort of have an open season on each other;
only in the winter, in the country, can you have longer, quiet stretches when you can savor belonging to yourself.
Ruth Stout

Withered and Beautiful

Winter is not my favourite season by any means, yet I am still finding treasures when I look for them.
Her colours are fading but you can still see the beauty it once was and I love it, for the way she still stands alone


Frosted in Time

Bowing their heads under the pressure of the rain drops, they look like I feel
Waiting for Spring knowing it is coming and wondering when, how long
till the warm breath of the sun will revive their soul


River in the Fog
Then I keep going, this is what I see and I feel love
The fog turns everything I see into a soft dream
The truth of the matter is, I am learning to love Winter

How about you dear friend?

18 comments on “The truth of the matter is…

  1. Ah such hauntingly beautiful imagery and words of winter. I waffle between loving it, and caving in to my longing for spring! Thank you for this sweet post, reminding me to love this cold frosty day and the happy birds that flock to my bird feeders.🙂 Hugs, Gina

    Like

  2. I am learning to love your photographs of winter. I think I will miss winter when it is over because I will miss the tender subtleties caught by your appreciative eye. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    Like

  3. Wow, what a beautiful post. Your photos are beautiful, and the opening quote is perfect. Your winter looks serious. Our winters are more crisp clear skies and frosty mornings; but I still identify with the concept of winter. i always laugh and say I hibernate in winter. I stay at home more, say no to everything and just rest. If my winter was like your winter, it would be the same but more🙂.

    Like

  4. amazing photo absolutly love the writing “Her colours are fading but you can still see the beauty it once was and I love it, for the way she still stands alone” Sounds like me one day….
    🙂 Lien

    Like

  5. Your photography captures the essence of winter…when it is at it’s “worst” — bleak, dull, grey and “lifeless”. And yet within that, it is possible to still see beauty and hope (a tiny bit of colour in the first one, that small leaf or pod) and as you said in the last one about the fog — it turns everything into a soft dream. That in itself is beauty. As for me, there are parts of winter I am learning to appreciate…”love” may still take some time! 🙂

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

