On my night table

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends;
they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors,

and the most patient of teachers.
Charles W. Eliot

On my night table

Tell me what is on your night table and I’ll tell you who you are😉

Outside weather wet and grey, not really conducive to any photograph taking so I decided for a change
to let you in and show you what my night table looks like. Come on in and let me explain…

A sock puppet, Sweet Son’s last year sewing project from school
Michael Connelly’s The Overlook
Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart
A beautiful watch given to me by Lovely husband’s uncle last Summer
A wooden book mark from Sweet Son Wood Work class this year
Four rings I often wear and love very much
The Power of Focus from Les Hewitt
Vivre en Paix (Live in Peace) by Thierry Jansen

All these on top of the vision board I had created two years ago.

Four books at the same time? I can see you smile…The truth is I started all of them and still have to finish one
To do the reading I’d love to, I either need at least three more hours a day, or to learn speed reading
and at this very moment none of those options are mine…

So what’s a girl to do, but to be hopeful and keep the books she wishes to finish close by?😉

What are the books on your night table, dear friend?

24 comments on “On my night table

  1. So you read french language too. It reminds me that I should learn some french a useful word to use in polynesian country. I must confess that I like to look at picture than reading. (I have never finish one english pocket book but I like read things through the internet. One book I will carry everywhere if I have to relocate is ‘Larousse Gastronomic’ 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh I don’t have a night table..just a little table with my lap tops and stuff piled on there. Right now I’m reading two books…The book of Understanding by Osho and uhmm..a book about Sacred pathways..can’t remember the author’s name..LOL.

    Like

  3. Goodness. My laptop, a pile of clean folded clothes (I really don’t like putting clothes away!), two books – book 3 of the Boudica series and The Compassionate Life (I like to read one novel and one spiritual type book at the same time :)), an aura photo, cd of books for my son, my jewellery box and a couple of bottles of cosmetics (body creams) and 3 disc drives…

    Like

  4. Love the vision board and handmade gifts from you son. Priceless, Anyes. I was actually looking at that bookmark wondering where I could get one. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    Like

  5. You are not alone in reading more than one book at a time…say hello to your fellow multi-tasking reader friend! I’ve always got 3 or 4 on the go and in various stages of being read. Right now I’ve got 2 on the go. I just finished “Eat Every Sandwich” by Lee Lipsenthal (biography) and I’ve started “Working on Sunday” by Edward O. Phillips (it’s a series about a character called Geoffry Chadwick and I’m going through them all!) and Tracy Chevalier’s latest (love Tracy Chevalier’s work!) “The Last Runaway”. There are PILES on my nightstand, under the nightstand and on a chair beside the night stand. What can I say…I love books!! And, to put your mind at ease, I’m fine Anyes!! Really, I am. Not going anywhere…just working my way through where I’ve been, where I am and where I’m going…it’s all good!! And thank you for caring and being concerned!! xoxoxo

    Like

  6. I don’t have a night table…yet. Our bedroom will be the last room to renovate in our house and at this rate….well, i don’t see it happening for another year or two. Regardless, with the joys of ereading i always have three or four books on the go, as can be seen by my Goodreads profile🙂 it just depends on the device i have handy.

    Like

  7. I know that one of the books on my night table is Women Who Run With Wolves, one I often go back to and read from time to time.

    You inspire me with your vision board! It’s time for me to create a new one, yet I never thought of putting it on my night table.

    Like

  8. Your night table looks quite big .. I have my hand cream, alarm watch, lamp and a little green plant, bottle of mineral water and the remote control for the lamps in the room.
    All the other remote controls do I have in the draw: tv, dvd-player and media box.
    What kind of person … could I be ????? *smile

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

