When the sun is shining

When the sun is shining I can do anything;
no mountain is too high, no trouble too difficult to overcome.
Wilma Rudolph

Glasses

The surprising visit of the sun this past week-end prompted us last Sunday to take advantage of this rare and welcomed opportunity. Pulling out the garden table and chairs, washing away the dirt/dust accumulated during those long winter months and finally setting it up in our small backyard was what needed to be done.

Once everything was cleaned, I brought my notebook together with my favourite pen, to write while soaking in the Vitamin D, I had been starved of the past few months. My whole body was so grateful to be out in the warm air, relaxing while doing what I loved. Listening to the neighbourhood children and grandchildren playing across our fence, smelling the smokey scent of a BBQ being set up nearby; so many distractions to all my senses it was hard to keep focused and I did not mind at all.

Sitting side by side with Darling Daughter recharging my soul and watching Sweet Son kick his soccer ball against our side fence, tiny pleasures that made last Sunday one I will treasure for a long time. I am now smiling looking at the photograph I chose to accompany this post…Sunshiny Sundays are my favourite of all😉

21 comments on “When the sun is shining

  1. I hope that the sunshine and your family continue to recharge your batteries. On the other side of the world our weather has (finally) mellowed and I can work outside without dissolving into a sticky puddle.

    Like

  2. What a great visual that was! I remember days like that, watching my children playing happily in our yard with me or on their own. I didn’t think about the days they would be off playing with others… I’m glad you had a chance to really cherish that moment in time, and in the sun, with them. I didn’t realize they, the moments or the children, would be gone so soon…

    Like

  3. Those are my favourite kinds of days — where all the senses are involved and at play…sounds like it was pure bliss. And, I’m thinking…that you write in French in your journal..oui?? 😉

    Like

  4. ah nice…there is something that happens when we put our hands to the earth…a connection made that is really amazing…and so invigorating as well when the sun is shining and we feel that vitamin d coursing through our veins…smiles.

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

