There we are…

It’s not only children who grow. Parents do too. As much as we watch to see what our children do with their lives, they are watching us to see what we do with ours. I can’t tell my children to reach for the sun. All I can do is reach for it, myself. Joyce Maynard

First Soccer Game Soccer season is back in full swing.

On this foggy morning smelling like Autumn, Sweet Son’s delight is what made waking up so early on a Saturday morning totally worth it. The long drive to our game allowed for an awesome conversation with him about a whole bunch of nothings, the ones that close family bonds are made of. Listening to him talk I know how lucky I am to feel so close to both my children. Such a gift is something I treasure with all my being as I am very aware of its precious quality.

I know there will be cold and rainy Saturday mornings when I will rather stay in bed rather than take him to his game. They will be far and few because the time we spend together getting to know each other better, makes it all worthwhile.

Ps: I could not help myself…I changed my blog theme yet again, I hope you do not mind🙂

10 comments on “There we are…

  1. Love this …. don’t have any children, but I can relate to what your saying here … that the years passes so quickly and suddenly the years are gone where moments are gone and .. they will spend their moments with somebody else. Like your new world very much.

    Like

  2. I remember these days with my son. Luckily, even though he is far from me, we still talk and I still take the time to sit and listen because I feel how easily I could miss how precious the time is with him if I got caught up in “having” to do something else. He is precious to me and I honor that with giving him my full attention when he asks for it. He is 26, soon to be 27 and I feel blessed that he keeps me/us, in his life. That we are important to him. He says he knows how much I/we love him. I don’t know if he can until he has kids one day. But I trust now that he loves me! Wow. How amazing. Yes, I’m learning too!

    Like

  3. First of all, I’m loving the new look for your “home” — it’s fresh and I think you were ready to spread your wings a little…moving through that transition! 🙂 And I so know what you mean about those talks in the car about “little nothings” — it is those little nothings that are the corner stone to building even better communication with our children. I had some of the best talks with my sons when we would drive anywhere — sporting events, a shopping trip, a vacation away. The little things that money cannot buy! xo

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

