The light in my heart

Does it happen to you?

I am irritated by my own writing.
I am like a violinist whose ear is true,
but whose fingers refuse to reproduce
precisely the sound he hears within.
Gustave Flaubert

The light in my heart

I am still very much in awe of my whole writing experience. The actual exercise of getting back to regular posting is starting to become familiar again. Yet as soon as I have a bit of a writing rhythm going on, the loud voices of doubts start ringing in my ears. Making such a raucous that I can’t help but stop.

I’ve read enough books on writing to know that there is no magic tip. Writing is all about just putting pen to paper, fingers to keyboard and just write. I know that, I know this in each and every bone of my body. So why, tell my why can’t I just follow this simple enough process?

Oh and before I go I was just wondering, does it ever happen to you dear friend?

11 comments on “Does it happen to you?

  1. Why don’t you write down those loud voices of doubt? Every time they come let them be heard by writing them down. You don’t have to publish them, you just have to give them space, to acknowledge them, even if you don’t like one bit what they’re saying. When you’ve written what the doubt voices are saying then there will be room for what comes next. Do it every time. Have a special “doubt voices” file to put them in, but erase the old entry as soon as you put in a new entry so there’s never very much in the file. Become very aware of what the voices are saying. It will lead you on a journey.
    Hugs, Alison

    Like

  2. Yes. It happens all the time to me. I’ll find a way to overcome the doubts for a while, and then they come back. It’s like bacteria that have become resistant to antibiotics. I have to find a new way to combat those nasty thoughts and the cycle begins again. My latest “generation” of anti-doubt-otics is to see the doubt voices for what they are and dismiss them.

    Each of us finds a way to overcome. Naming it and sharing the problem is one of the best ways, because then you know you are not alone.

    Like

  3. The Flaubert quote reminds me of this great, if lengthy, quote from Ira Glass: “Nobody tells this to people who are beginners, I wish someone told me. All of us who do creative work, we get into it because we have good taste. But there is this gap. For the first couple years you make stuff, it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. But your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still killer. And your taste is why your work disappoints you. A lot of people never get past this phase, they quit. Most people I know who do interesting, creative work went through years of this. We know our work doesn’t have this special thing that we want it to have. We all go through this. And if you are just starting out or you are still in this phase, you gotta know its normal and the most important thing you can do is do a lot of work. Put yourself on a deadline so that every week you will finish one story. It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap, and your work will be as good as your ambitions. And I took longer to figure out how to do this than anyone I’ve ever met. It’s gonna take awhile. It’s normal to take awhile. You’ve just gotta fight your way through.”

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)

