Writing Exercises


Why was Culprit out now? I just caught her by the tail. 
Don’t you love her? 
And watch your flailing arms or she might scratch you again.

140 characters

This is my weekly rendition on GrandMa’s Goulash‘ meme called Yours Succinctly a fun writing exercise, where a photograph is the inspiration for a 140 characters mini-fiction with this challenging option of using in the story a word of the week: Culprit 

This past fews days, having decided to continue taking concrete steps to improve my writing, I summoned my courage and was on the look out to find a local writing group. I was lucky in this search of mine and for the first time tomorrow evening, I will be going to meet everyone and see what it all entails. I feel quite excited and a bit scared, deep breaths…this is something I need to do, if I want to learn about this writing craft I keep dreaming of, and stepping out of my comfort zone will only make me stronger. Right?

12 comments

  1. Delightful! We have a new kitty that fully lives up to your microfiction pussycat's name! If we had known that ahead, we could have named her Culprit, instead of Marshmallow! Hm. Come to think of it, maybe the two tags are one in the same, because Marshmallow typically gets herself into fixed that make us want to toast her!

    Like

  2. Culprit is a perfect cat nameEnjoy your groupPush the nervous feeling away and remember that whatever you're feeling most of the others are feeling it tooCreate and be happy 🙂

    Like

  3. Nice microfiction. I never once thought of using Culprit as the cat's name. But it's a perfect name for a cat!Hope you enjoy your writing group. Good luck with that. I belong to one and really appreciate the honesty and support everyone brings to the table. There is no negativity, just honest critiquing and much positive reinforcement. I hope yours is similarly blessed!

    Like

Talk to me, I am listening :-)